Inprivate browsing is available in almost all the browsers i.e. Internet Explorer 8.0 and 9.0, Firefox 3.5 and later versions, Google Chrome, etc. When InPrivate browsing is started by the user, it opens a new window of the browser. The information regarding the browsing i.e. cookies, temporary files, etc. does get stored but they are stored in a protected area that is controlled by the operating system and no process is allowed access to those resources.
Once the browser closes the InPrivate session, all those cookies and temporary files are deleted and no trace is left on the system. The information that is affected because of InPrivate browsing are cookies, temporary internet files, webpage history, form data, passwords, auto complete information, etc. All these information does get stored temporarily, but cleared when the user exits the InPrivate session.
Few things need to be kept in mind though regarding InPrivate browsing. InPrivate browsing doesn’t provide protection against traffic sniffing as packets will be still traversing the network. InPrivate browsing doesn’t provide anonymity while browsing. Finally if the user has added any bookmarks or feeds onto the browser, they won’t be removed.